TURMERIC MILK

turmeric-milk2-e1419980030649-660x440

Of all the ways to get the superfood and anti-inflammatory turmeric spice into my diet, warm turmeric milk is by far my favorite. It has such a soothing quality to it, and when I am feeling sick I feel as though I can actually sense the nutrients from the ginger and other immunity building spices soaking into my body. (Even if I am just mentally feeling like I can, that still has to be helpful, right?! Ha.) Turmeric milk is so much easier to make than I would have ever thought. Many people wonder what kind of milk to use for this drink. I say, use your favorite milk, one that works best for your digestive system. If you have time to make your own almond milk, even better because you can spice it any way you’d like. For me, I feel like turmeric and Indian food go hand and hand, so I prefer to use coconut milk.  Brewing the milk with a cinnamon stick and fresh ginger seem to work best to extract the flavors, and they are easily drained once you have steeped your drink.

INGREDIENTS
  • 2 cups of coconut milk (or your favorite milk)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 cinnamon stick or 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • small pinch of black pepper and grated ginger (fresh is best)
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Simply pour all ingredients into a small saucepan and bring to a light boil. Whisk to combine ingredients. Reduce heat to low and simmer for up to 10 minutes.
  2. Strain the milk if you have large pieces of ginger, cinnamon, peppercorns, etc. To serve, add honey or a dash of cinnamon or nutmeg.
  3. Enjoy warm is best!

* PLEASE NOTE:  THIS IS MERELY AN OPINION BLOG. THE RESEARCH AND INFORMATION COVERED IN THIS BLOG IS OPEN TO PUBLIC DOMAIN FOR DISCUSSION.  WE DO NOT HAVE ANY FORMAL MEDICAL BACKGROUND.  WE SIMPLY WANT TO SHARE AND DISCUSS FOODS FOR THOSE WITH CROHN’S DISEASE. BECAUSE PEOPLE SUFFERING FROM CROHN’S DISEASE TOLERATE A VARIETY OF FOODS DIFFERENTLY, RECIPES OFTEN NEED SPECIFIC ALTERATIONS FOR EACH INDIVIDUAL.  GET CREATIVE! LEAVE OUT THE FOODS THAT DON’T WORK FOR YOU AND USE THE FOODS THAT MAKE YOU FEEL GOOD. HAPPY COOKING!!

Leave a Reply

